Department of Public Safety

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) includes the campus police force serving the Syracuse University campus and University-controlled properties in Syracuse, New York. The Department employs 64 Public Safety Officers and 15 supporting Community Services Officers who are stationed around campus and patrol the surrounding community. Public Safety Officers are on duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and the DPS emergency call center is also available around the clock to address our community’s safety and security needs.

All of DPS’s Public Safety Officers are required to successfully complete a certified campus peace officer or police academy, which includes more than 24 weeks of physical, academic, and practical training, a three-month Field Training Program, and a 13-week evaluation period. Our Public Safety Officers carry firearms when on duty, and complete firearms proficiency trainings twice every year.

To learn more about the department, visit